DRH Journal

You have to go exploring to aquire new ideas – and to explore further to aquire better ideas.

Final report: EPF – Chimoio

leave a comment »

EPF - Chimoio, MozambiqueThe school is in Nhamatsane village 4-5 km far from Chimoio city, Manica district. The schoolyard with school building, student dormitory, dining halls, separated for students, for workers, for teachers, vegetable garden,  ”pig house”,   and DI residence is in total approximately 200×200 m, on the confines of the village. The life, and building conditions are good: drinkable, running water, electricity, well-kept buildings.

The project and school life (courses, studies, and practical tasks) is well organized . The problem can be, if there is some changes, the they can not be anymore consequent, the people are not really able to corporate, if many of them are involved. One of the biggest problem from my point of view is the hierarchy, which is thought on a wrong way. Elders, or people on higher status get not only respect, but they the are having also some kind of slaves, which is common in the country. And a basic problem is that at the school the teachers allow the students to cheat during test. In Mozambique there is a rule, if the 70 % of student don’t pass the year, the teacher is going to be kicked out. So, instead of teaching careful, they prefer to let the students pass the test and the exams.
When I arrived they were having the 4th period: studies + teaching practice in the primary schools around EPF. We started with two weeks of introduction to get know the instruction of the project, what is going on right that time, what are the possible tasks for me in the project, history- and political situation of Mozambique, to get know Chimoio city and the neighborhood, to see a complete picture about our future life in this six months.
English theater - EPF MozambiqueAfter the introduction period I presented my plan, what I would like to do. My project leader and me discussed about how to fit me to the project. Because I did not speak Portuguese at all the only task that I could take, was the English Specialization (English club – playing games +  exam period assisting written exams, and oral). Later, for a while, I was assisting also for English theater. I had tried in the beginning with Environment + Agriculture at school, but I could not succeed without knowing Portuguese.
My project leader gave me the responsibility to organize a photo album of the school on the Internet. I was responsible for The Journalist Club as well, we started up with the school news letter.

My big practical task was being involved in a construction of the Pedagogical Workshop, as a coordinator and also like painter.
My first period was very difficult. My difficulties were  the language, different culture, and my personality. In the beginning I was feeling always lost, useless, and scared of challenges. When I  got know the things around me, and I got my space, then I could start to be productive.
I got big help from my colleague (other DI), we completed each other with our skills, and finally we developed a very deep friendship (one of the most important ever in my life). I got help also from my project leader. He really took care of us (the D.I.’s), he was always ready for my questions, and ready to help, in any case.

Edit - EPF MozambiqueOnly advice, what I can give to new D.I.’s is that you should always take care of health,  think positive, be open minded, and always take the way of goodness. Then we are ready to change little things, which can change other things…

Edit Miklosics

Written by drhnorway

December 23, 2008 at 3:42 pm

Leave a comment